top of page
  • Writer's pictureVicky di Donato

If Life Was In Reverse

Inspired by Gray Thomas's 'Life In Reverse'. Available to watch below.


If life was in reverse

I’d see my blood be taken back

Taken back by the innocent skin I’d betrayed

I’d have no more scars on my young legs


If life was in reverse

I’d come into focus, crying and crying

I’d start to get cheerier, my friends unworried

I’d undrink that drink, the one that put me over the edge


If life was in reverse

I’d start the love in tears

I’d feel the betrayal before having it undone

I’d need not forgive, for you never did anything wrong


If life was in reverse

I wouldn’t need to drink water

My tears would hydrate me always

And my sadness become light and nothingness


If life was in reverse

They’d take the medal off my neck

I’d swim against the gravity, jumping back on the board

I’d come out the pool relaxed and stretch the race away


If life was in reverse

I would know goodbye in a different way

It would be the flight that came back home,

Knowing that meeting you is seeing you never again


If life was in reverse

Younger me would feel like a liar

Telling people she’d only lived in three countries

My fourth country erased and un-lived in, lonely Canada


If life was in reverse

My to do list would always be checked off

Except for those few pesky tasks that escape me

I’d erase every check mark without a care in the first place




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page